Backup From Physical Standby

The subject of taking backups from an Oracle Physical Standby database is something that has cropped up in conversation at work for me a few times over the past 6 months. It was something I had read about rather than done myself, and 2 of my colleagues reported trying, but without successfully restoring. I wanted to get my hands dirty and have a try…

The only problem was getting into a position where I could test. There was no opportunity at work and I had my sights set on something else at home. Well, that something else left me with an Oracle VM Server and Oracle VM Manager setup that would allow me to set up a Data Guard test environment with ease.

Anyway, what I ended up with was a bit much for a blog post, so I thought a PDF was in order… Backup From Physical Standby (MN: Updated PDF on 2011-07-16 due to a typo).

2 thoughts on “Backup From Physical Standby

  1. Pingback: Rename Database When Using ASM « ORAganism

  2. Have you tested the recovery of controlfile on the primary, since I think you need to backup at least both controlfile (primary and standby) to be able to recover both database.

    And what i understood is that RMAN can’t make the difference between the primary and the standby controlfile since they have both the same DBID so that’s the main reason why it is recommended to use the catalog..

    I should soon test all that since we are planning to backup from a 10g standby database in a RAC environment, and I will need to try to recover the primary with the backups :)

Leave a Reply

