OOW10: The Story So Far

One good thing about jet lag is that I’ve been waking up by at least 5 am, which has meant I have plenty of time catch up with what needs catching up on… Well, apart from sleep.

Here’s a quick summary of the first 2 days of presentations/sessions:

Sunday

Exadata SIG: Although I have never worked on Exadata it is something I’m keen to learn more about, and in the ideal world I’ll find an opportunity to get hands-on experience. The SIG session was very welcoming and the discussions interesting. Of most interest to me was talk of the possibility of getting the Exadata storage cell VMs, that some have seen used by Oracle employees, out in the wider community. Personally I would see this as an excellent way for Oracle to improve the chance of organisations adopting Exadata. After all, before taking on a new proposition like Exadata it would be sensible to do everything possible to ensure staff are appropriately skilled. Most organisations aren’t going to be able to afford to have play Exadata environments, so VMs would be a great solution… If you are interested in Exadata then I suggest joining the group on LinkedIn.

Richard Foote – Oracle Indexing Tips, Tricks and Traps: An excellent and informative presentation. There’s no point me trying to reproduce the highlights as I believe Richard will be making the presentation available on his blog. In the meantime you could spend hours learning about indexing from the material already available in the Presentations & Demos section of this site (some of which was covered in the presentation).

Rich Niemiec – Tuning Oracle at The Block Level – Beginners Go Away: Personally I find Rich’s presentations inspiring, but be warned he moves through slides at a fast pace. Rich said the presentation will be available on his company’s website and I guess it will end up here. Right now it looks like there is a previous version of the presentation, from 2006, available as well as a host of other interesting looking ones.

Craig Shallahamer – Resolving Buffer Busy Waits: It seemed to take Craig a little while to get going, but when he did I found him to be an excellent presenter with the ability to keep interest by giving the components of Oracle Database Server personalities. This session certainly helped me better understand the internals of buffer cache management. There were some fantastic quotations including: “Every block wants to be in the buffer cache… That’s where the party is!” Presentation here.

Anthony Noriega – Oracle Automatic Storage Management Load Balancing: By this point I was pretty worn out and maybe I had the wrong expectation regarding this presentation, but I didn’t see it through to the end. It wasn’t that the content was not interesting, it was, but it was almost all stuff I was already aware of. In fact the only think I picked up was that ASM_POWER_LIMIT has a range of 0 – 1024 from 11.2, which I’ve just tried to validate and the official documentation shows 0 – 11 (local copy of 11.2 docs as I can’t hit tahiti.oracle.com right now) … If I’d not already spent so much time on ASM I would have got more from the session, so I’m sure there will be others that have a different view.

After the conference sessions were over I met up with friends and enjoyed the free food and beer. I spend most of the duration of the keynote presentation discussing Oracle security, so can’t really comment too much on Exalogic.

Monday

Kamran Agayev – RMAN 11g New Features with practical demonstrations: This was my first Unconference session and really summed up what Unconference has to offer. There were less than 10 people in the room and we had the please of an excellent overview of the 11g new features, with live demos. Highlights for me were the demo of the Data Recovery Advisor and introduction of the ability to restore a database with only a backup and auxiliary instance as detailed here. If you have any desire to know more about RMAN and how to get the most out of it then I’d strongly recommend you follow Kamran’s blog.

Craig Shallahamer – Optimizing Internal Serialization Control: Another interesting session. The presentation is available from Craig’s OraPub website, but the one thing you don’t get when you’re not actually at the presentation you miss out of the way Craig talks about the Oracle memory structures. My favourite from this session was, “Gimme, gimme, gimme” (server process trying to acquire a latch).

At this point I went over to Oracle Closed World and could Arup Nanda and Tanel Poder both give presentations. If you’re reading this blog and you don’t know these guys then you need to get over to their blogs and spend some time reading their material. There are plenty of good presenter in the world of Oracle, but these two are right up there and do an excellent job of sharing their knowledge.

Rich Niemiec – Exadata for Beginners: I didn’t take any notes during this presentation other than writing down the following quotation: “Wanna teach your kids something of value, teach them Oracle!” I have to agree when I was starting my career in IT about 6 years ago I had no idea what Oracle would be today. The presentation is probably best described as a whistle-stop tour of what Exadata is and how it is evolving.

The OTN Night party provided the required refreshments and an unexpected opportunity to meet Jeremy Schneider of Ardent Performance Computing. The conversation ran on after the OTN Night and we onto a bar to catch up with with Karl Arao, who had presented earlier at Closed World.

Well, I started this writing this post first thing this morning and there has now been another whole day of sessions that I’ll write about soon.

As I final note, I did my first Oracle related presentation today (at Closed World) :-)

One thought on “OOW10: The Story So Far

  1. Pingback: OOW10: All Over « ORAganism

Leave a Reply

