RAC/Exadata Shell Aliases

I’ve been working on Oracle RAC systems for a while now and the subject of how best to setup shell environment variables and aliases seems to be something that there is a fair range of opinion on.

  • Do you have entries in oratab for both the database and the instance on that server?
  • Do you use oraenv or set the variables required for each environment via another method?
  • If you use oraenv, do you customise it?
  • How do you switch ORACLE_SID between the db_name and instance_name, if you do?

Please feel free to answer these questions via a comment below, however, the main point of this post is to share a few aliases that I’m finding very useful at the moment, and to encourage you to share aliases you use in your RAC environments. Actually, the non-RAC specific, Oracle related, aliases you create would be interesting to me too, but more on that later…

As I mentioned in a much earlier post I feel that in the world of RAC databases there is scope for an environment variable of ORACLE_DB or ORA_DB_NAME… But, I also feel that there’s a lot to be said for not introducing more variables then is necessary. To this end I have taken to creating the following aliases in RAC environments that I’m working in[1].

alias inst='ORACLE_SID=${ORACLE_SID}$($(grep "^+ASM[1-8]" /etc/oratab | cut -d":" -f2)/bin/olsnodes -l -n | cut -f2)'

alias db='ORACLE_SID=${ORACLE_SID%$($(grep "^+ASM[1-8]" /etc/oratab | cut -d":" -f2)/bin/olsnodes -l -n | cut -f2)}'

These aliases allow me to quickly switch ORACLE_SID from being set to the relevant value for the database to it being set to the relevant value for the instance on the given host. Obviously it doesn’t stop you modifying the value of ORACLE_SID to something that is not valid, but at least it is easy to undo a mistake you might have made.

Here’s a quick example:

[ORCL@rac-02 ~]$ inst
[ORCL2@rac-02 ~]$ inst
[ORCL22@rac-02 ~]$ inst
[ORCL222@rac-02 ~]$ inst
[ORCL2222@rac-02 ~]$ db
[ORCL222@rac-02 ~]$ db
[ORCL22@rac-02 ~]$ db
[ORCL2@rac-02 ~]$ db
[ORCL@rac-02 ~]$ 

And, for a little more alias sharing… In my time working on Exadata environments I’ve found myself using dcli a lot and created the aliases below to save me typing on the basis that I, almost always, either want to use dcli to communicate with all “compute nodes” or all “storage cells” so why not simplify the process and shorten the commands:

alias ddcli='dcli -g ~/dbs_group -l oracle'

alias cdcli='dcli -g ~/cell_group -l cellmonitor'

I’d be keen to get a page going for useful aliases so we can all benefit from the ideas of each other… If you’ve got something to share please comment and if the collection builds up we’ll start a page for alias sharing.
__________
[1] – If I’m working in an environment where a shared “oracle” account is in use then I define my aliases in a separate file and source this when I login so that my preferences are not inflicted on others :-)

4 thoughts on “RAC/Exadata Shell Aliases

  1. Pingback: Orphaned Files in ASM « ORAganism

Leave a Reply

