UKOUG Database Server SIG (Leeds 2013)

On Thursday I attended the UKOUG Database Server SIG in Leeds. All slides have been uploaded to the UKOUG website.

https://www.ukoug.org/events/ukoug-database-server-sig-meeting-may-2013/

It’s the first SIG I’ve attended this year and after enjoying it so much I ought to try harder to get to other events. We had Oak Table presence from David Kurtz talking all things partitioning/compression and purging, two Oracle employees discussing first support and then ZFS/NetApp (I particularly enjoyed this one) and then Edgars Rudans on his evolution of the Exadata Minimal Patching process. All of these presentations are well worth downloading and checking out.

The last presentation of the day was me. I’ve never presented before and it took a big step out of my comfort zone to get up there but I’m so glad I did. I would recommend it to anyone currently spending time in the audience thinking “I wish I had the confidence to do that”. It’s nerve racking beforehand but exhilarating afterwards.

When blogging in the past I’ve liked how it makes you think a little bit harder before pressing the publish button. I think the best thing I got out of the whole presentation process was that it made me dig even deeper to make sure I’d done my homework.

After the SIG there was a good group headed out for Leeds Oracle Beers #3 which involved local beer, good burgers and Morris Dancing, all good fun.

One thought on “UKOUG Database Server SIG (Leeds 2013)

  1. Pingback: UKOUG Database SIG Leeds- review « Oracle DBA – A lifelong learning experience

Leave a Reply

